STDs – Fly away with us


I am a crafter at heart. I say “at heart” because although I love it, I have a hard time committing to the visions I first start with. Imagine a girl who loves Michaels and buys scrapbooking materials at the end of every major period in her life, but still has no complete scrapbooks to show for it. That girl….

** head down between her legs **

That girl is I. But, never the less, I decided that this would be THE starting point in my life where I would see projects to the end. So after picking our date, our city, and the ceremony venue, I began freakishly collecting Save the Date Inspirations.

Allow me to unveil our Save the Dates (STDs). This is what I ended up with! In this post I’ll show you the STD in it’s full glory with details and shots of all the work.

The metallic ivory envelops had a gold embossed return address across the envelop flap. Notice the metallic-ness? Yummm-o!

Hand calligraphy wannabe addressing. More on this process later. For now, let’s just say that practice made acceptable.

Inside enclosure has a punched palm tree and the saying “Please save the Date, Sunny San Diego awaits” ok ok… so it rhymes but not really. It’s about the best we could come up with. Cheesey peasey… but oh so very us. 🙂

Open it up and you see the actual STD. Can you start to see what the design is suppose to mimic? You got it smarty pants. They’re airplane tickets. A couple people reported actually thinking they were real tickets. Silly guests. We love you and all, but seriously, we’ve got a wedding to pay for.

And of course they are magnetic! What would a save the date DIY project be if it could not be admired for months to come on thy guests’ refrigerators?!?!


Next up, how to make these babies and cost breakdowns galore.

1 Comment

Filed under DIY, Wedding Planning

One response to “STDs – Fly away with us

  1. Miss Cali Girl in NJ

    i love them! the perfect sunny, destination wedding STD!

Leave a Reply

