Entourage size: A Wedding Party Dilemma


source

Having a wedding party is a time honored tradition that FI and I did not want to leave out. So deciding whether or not to have one wasn’t even a question. Since our wedding surrounded the idea of bringing family and friends together, we knew that it was important to have a wedding party. So next question would be naturally be how many to include? FI is 31 and has been in many weddings. He is a wonderful and kind man. So it’s so surprise he has friends he would like to have stand for him.

I have friends and family that I want to include, but not nearly as many must haves as FI.

So what’s a gal to do?

Our Besties were obvious. For him, his twin brother. For me, my bff. Then it was important for us to include our other siblings. That’s 1 little brother and an older half brother for me, and another sister for him. Are you keeping count?

That’s 3 males, 2 females. With only full siblings we could have a wedding party of 4 (2 males, 2 females).

What happens when you start including others you ask?

It blows up! Out of control up!

Groomsmen: 3 high school buddies, 2 college buddies, 1 grad school buddy

Brideswomen: 2 cousins, 1 high school buddy, 1 college buddy, 2 grad school buddies

That’s a total of 8 brideswoman (aka bridesmaids) and 8 groomsmen.

At the end of the day, we decided on going full out. That’s right… 16 in our wedding party. Oh right, did I mention ring bearer and flower girl yet? Of course not, that would add 2 more. So 18 plus a bride and groom equals 20. Yes friends… us + entourage = 20!

source

A party it shall be. We know we’re crazy, and we simply don’t care. It’s going to be a blast in our opinion. And we trust that our vendors will be great enough to manage and capture it all!

Did you run into any problems in your wedding party decision making?

2 Comments

Filed under Bridesmaid, Wedding Planning

2 responses to “Entourage size: A Wedding Party Dilemma

  1. Miss Cali Girl in NJ

    Glad ur back. I’ve been waiting for you 😛

  2. Miss Cali Girl in NJ

    The FI and I decided on our party pretty easily. We decided on few more ppl than they recommend for a wedding of my size (2 per 50 guests) of 75ppl. There are 5 groomsmen and 5 bridesmaids. My biggest hang up was not including any of the girls I have met over here in my NYC/graduate school/professional life. I decided not to open up this book of worms because it would be too hard to decide. There isn’t really one girl that I am closest to and most have either been met through my FI or work. There was going to be an awkward moment. Instead I decided to have the the FI’s family represent this stage of my life. The FI’s sister will be bridesmaid–or “sister of the groom”. And the FI’s 3 nieces (my mini-bffs!) are junior bridesmaids. The youngest 2 nieces will be flower girls. My nephew will be the ringbearer. So that is 5 groomsmen & 1 ringbearer. 5 bridesmaids, 3 junior bridesmaids, 2 flowergirls. 16 in the wedding party and less than 100 guests. I think I may need to invite more ppl!!

Leave a Reply

