{DIY} Biggy Bloomer


Who doesn’t want a big ol’ bloomer on their head! I know I do. So many people on etsy have beautiful work for sale. Any quick google search will locate these very talented people. Me, on the other hand, I have a hard time feeling like I can make something. Now, this doesn’t mean that I can actually make anything that comes close to the work of these very talented people I talk about. In fact, I regularly drool over their work. Those pictures will be shared another day. Today, I will walk you though my first attempt at making myself a flower hair piece.

Materials:

1 Faux Flower of your choosing

1 hair clip also of your choosing

1 needle

seed beads

thread to match flower and beads

glue

Instructions:

(1) Take your faux flower a part.If the flower is very large, you might find that their are plastic discs in between each layer of petals. You can choose to keep the plastic discs in if you would like. I chose to take all but 1 out. I wanted to make sure there was some support on the back, so I kept one plastic disc on the very back of the flower. I tossed the yellow flower center because I wanted to add some fanciness to the inside of the flower.

IMG_1784

(2)Pin the petals together so it’s easier to work with. At this point, you can choose to make the flower smaller if you would like. Simply leave out some of the larger petals. You can also add petals from different flowers to give more color or texture. Be creative.

IMG_1787

(3) Thread your needle. Make a knot at one end of the thread. Stick it through the flower from the back side. Slide a couple seed beads on, and stick the needle back through the flower to the back. Repeat until you have sewn as many beads on as you like.

IMG_1794

(4) Glue the hair clip to the back of the flower. You can see here that I kept the green fabric from the flower to hide the clip. Glue the clip to the flower. Then glue the green fabric to the clip.IMG_1796

Et voila mes amies!

IMG_1803

ok ok.. it’s a bit big for my little head. But with the right hair style… I say it could be very “bridal”. Who doesn’t want that?

Not a fantastic shot of the flower. But in this next picture you can see the flower in action with a mint green BCBG dress I wore to my cousin’s wedding this past August.  Not bad huh?

IMG_1351-1

What do you think? Is it bridal worthy? How many DIY projects have you made that you just are not going to end up using for the wedding?

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Flower

2 responses to “{DIY} Biggy Bloomer

  1. Looks great! I don’t know why I’m so afraid of the DIY hairflower, but it intimidates me! Maybe I’ll have to give this a go afterall.

  2. Hello, this weekend is good designed for me,
    as this time i am reading this fantastic informative piece of writing here at my residence.

Leave a Reply

